Simple Spinach, Pear & Parmesan Salad

I can see a category emerging:  Rehearsal Foods.  This evening, our “Koffee House Players” group had a little dinner after a rehearsal for a parody skit for our synagogue’s Koffee House/Open Mike night.  The plan was soup & pizza, with desserts and/or salads brought by others.  I put together this salad and was asked for the vinaigrette recipe.  Always a sweet compliment!  I’m glad I had photographed the salad and written down the dressing recipe.

Simple Spinach, Pear & Parmesan Salad

Approx. 8 oz baby spinach leaves (about 1/2 of the container of organic stuff from my beloved Costco)
1 pear, cut into 1 1/2″ slices
Approx. 1 oz. parmesan cheese, shaved (as much as possible with a cheap cheese slicer)
Freshly ground black pepper

Vinaigrette:
2 t. lemon juice
1 t. white wine vinegar
1 t. dijon mustard
1 t. agave nectar (I think honey or sugar would work fine)
1 t. salt
1/4 c. olive oil – the more olive-y tasting, the better.  I used the California Estate stuff from Trader Joe’s.  I’m almost out and am contemplating my next pilgrimage to Vegas – my closest Trader Joe’s – 6 hours away.  What I will do for good, cheap wine and good, cheap olive oil…

Whisk the lemon juice, vinegar, mustard, agave nectar, and salt together.  Drizzle olive oil while whisking.

Explore posts in the same categories: Salads, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

